Research Project Calculator
Use this calculator to help you make the best use of your time. Put in your start date and when your paper is do and it will generate a timeline for you to follow to have your paper completed on time.
Assignment Calculator (Univ.of Minnesota) Will help you set up a timeline for yourself whether you are doing a research paper, lab report, oral presentation or creating a powerpoint.
Background Knowledge
Background research is essential for understanding concepts, terms, events, places and people who shape your topic. This knowledge base needs to be built before you start your formal research. Use this information to broaden or narrow your topic, formulate research questions, and build keywords.
Use Encyclopedias, Database articles or Reference books to help you fill in your background knowledge of your topic.
Looking for Books
When looking for print books remember to write down the call number to locate them on the shelf. Our library uses the Dewey Decimal system.
Online Storage Tips
It is Important to back up your files in multiple places if possible when doing research. Computers can crash and flash drives get lost. Make use of the following tips to keep you from panicking if you lose your flashdrive.
Google Drive : You must have a Google account to use this.
Dropbox : Use Dropbox to upload your documents you want to save and also your powerpoints.
Delicious : Use Delicious to save bookmarks of web pages you want to reference again.
Symbaloo : Use to save bookmarks.
Pre-Research Strategies
- BrainstormingBrainstorming can help you choose a topic, develop an approach to a topic, or deepen your understanding of the topic’s potential. (UNC Chapel Hill)
- Begin the Pre-Searching AnalysisHandout for picking your topic, choosing synonyms and narrowing or broadening your topic. (Univ. of CA - Berkley)
Thesis Generator
Use this tool to help you develop a thesis statement. Always get input and approval from your teacher.
- Thesis Statement Checklist (Dartmouth Writing Center)See if your thesis statement answers these questions.
Note-Taking
Study Guides and Strategies : Note Card Creator : Create online notecards
Studyvibe : Notetaking Strategies : advice on notetaking strategies for when you are doing research and also for taking notes in class.
Summarizing, Paraphrasing and Quoting from Sources
- Summarizing, Paraphrasing and Quoting(Eastern Illinois University Writing Center)
- OWL Online Writing LabHints for quoting, paraphrasing and summarizing.
Agnes Scott College Center for Writing and Speaking
- Writing HandoutsIncludes handouts on writing a thesis statement, research paper, essay, lab report, literature review and many others.
Annotated Bibliographies : An Illustrated Guide (Carnegie Vincent Library)
The handout provides definitions and example of creating an annotated bibliography citation. Condensed from Annotated Bibliographies https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/owlprint/614/
- Annotated Bibliographies : UNC Writing CenterExplains why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provides an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them.
Need an Idea for a Research Topic?
Need an idea for a research topic? Look at the suggestions on these sites.
Check out the various topics that are covered in Points of View for possible research topics.
Creating Your Outline
- How to Write an Outline (Univ. of Albany SUNY)Provides instruction at each step.
- Provides directions and an example.
- Cambridge Rindge & Latin School : Improved Outline MakerScroll down below the instructions to start using the outline form. Follow the directions in the video to save your information.
Where Can I Look?
- Best Search PlacesUse this site to find some great places to search for information based on your research topic.