Thomas Jefferson
Jefferson's Presidency
- The Age of Jefferson and MadisonThomas Jefferson and James Madison both played important roles in the era of the American Revolution.
War of 1812
The War of 1812 produced a new generation of great American generals, including Andrew Jackson, Jacob Brown and Winfield Scott, and helped propel no fewer than four men to the presidency: Jackson, John Quincy Adams, James Monroe and William Henry Harrison.
First Barbary War
When Thomas Jefferson was inaugurated in March of 1801, he inherited troubled relations with the Barbary states — the Ottoman Regencies of Algiers, Tunis, and Tripoli, along with independent Morocco. The United States had treaties with all four, but tension was high and rising.
Thomas Jefferson
“We in America do not have government by the majority. We have government by the majority who participate.” 
― Thomas Jefferson
― Thomas Jefferson
Alexander Hamilton
- The Man Who Made America ProsperousAlexander Hamilton was the first treasury secretary.
- Understanding the Burr-Hamilton DuelThe duel between former Secretary of the Treasury Alexander Hamilton and Vice President Aaron Burr is the most famous duel in American history. On July 11, 1804, the two political rivals met on a dueling ground in Weehawken, New Jersey.
- HamiltonThis excerpt from Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton provides a brief sketch of the Founding Father and his legacy.
Mini Biography (from http://www.biography.com/)
U.S. History Primary Sources
- National Archives OPAUse Online Public Access (OPA) to search the National Archives online.
Tips for searching the National Archives:
- OPA allows you to search multiple holdings, including Archives.gov, the National Archives, and the web pages of presidential libraries.
- The National Archives includes archival materials related to the federal government and presidential administrations. It does not include materials from state and local governments.
- Enter specific key words in the search box, not entire phrases or questions. For example, use the name of a person, place, event, or organization.
- Go to Advanced Search and enter a date range to narrow your results.
- Especially look at results in the "Online Holdings" and "Archives.gov" sections.
Research help from NHD, including the best sites for primary sources on the web- NHD U.S. History Primary SourcesMultiple Links to sites of Primary Documents and Resources
- Photos, Maps & Other ImagesMultiple links to valuable resources
Searching the Library of Congress
- LOC Primary Source CollectionsBrowse collections of primary sources by topics or state.
- Main LOC Search PageSearch the Library of Congress collections. Use the tools on the left side of the results screen to narrow your results.