How to Use This Guide
This page includes links to the databases that will be most useful for your Early Modern Era Project. Use the links below to access the databases.
Contact your librarians, Ms. Hauer and Mrs. Lieb, with questions. chslibrary@tesd.net
Password for the "NoodleTools & Citations" tab: stoga
Gale in Context: World History
password: stoga
Gale eBooks
Reference eBooks. Search all eBooks by keyword or browse by subject.
password: stoga
CultureGrams
Cultural Information on countries of the world. Includes daily life, history, customs, interviews, and recipes.
Username: Stoga
Password: Pioneer1!
ABC-Clio World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
username: stogastudent
password: stogastudent
ABC-Clio World History: The Modern Era
username: stogastudent
password: stogastudent
Modern World History Online
Includes the Middle Ages to the present.
username: stoga
password: stoga
World Book Online
General reference encyclopedia.
Login ID: stoga
password: stoga
You can also access WorldBook on Clever.
Grolier Online
General reference encyclopedia.
username: stoga
password: stoga
Tips for Research in Databases
Browsing in the Databases: Use the browsing features in the databases to learn about different topics you could choose.
- Gale in Context World History
- Go to “Browse Topics” then choose a category. “Countries, Cultures, and Civilizations” is a good choice because many of the portal pages include a date range.
- ABC Clio World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
- Under “Explore by Time Periods”, scroll down and click “Show All+”. Click the topics to explore your interests.
Searching in the Databases: Search using specific keywords once you have selected a topic.
- It is a good idea to keep a list of keywords related to your topic, and to add to the list as you learn more.
Download articles you want to keep: When you find an article you want to keep, you should download the article, or print to PDF.
- Make sure it includes the MLA format citation. If the citation is not included, you may need to download it separately.
- After you download an article, stay organized by moving it to a folder in your OneDrive or adding it to OneNote. To add it to OneNote, use the Insert tab to insert it as a PDF, or copy and paste the text into the page directly.